Customer Reviews

Great service great motel

Reviewed 24 August 2015

When i arrived at the motel i was greeted by a very pleasant gentleman who explained everything that I needed to know. The reception was presented very well. The rooms are of a good size clean and well presented. The bathrooms have been renovated tastefully. The court yard is a credit to the management. Lounges tables and chairs fans and heater breakfast area and gardens are beautifully designed.The balcony was small but if u smoke its big enough. One part i was glad of was the very secure parking.Though my room was close to parramatta road there was no road noise. I will definatly be back. Great service great motel. I personally would give motel a 4+ rating.

Very friendly

Reviewed 30 September 2014

Once again stayed at this hotel. We happily stay here each time we go to sydney. Very accommodating, always go out of their way when we request a particular room. Reception staff very friendly & helpful. Our family live nearby, within walking distance, convenient for light rail travel etc

Nicest staff I've come across in a while!

Reviewed 10 September 2014

Staff were excellent! Was a mix up in our booking and staff were very helpful! Comfy bed, clean room with all the necessities, the lounge and dining areas were so warm and inviting also! I will never stay elsewhere in Sydney! Thank you Garden Lodge!

Budget inner west motel

Reviewed 13 August 2014

a good budget motel when you don't have to stay in the city but need to be close to it. Plenty of free car-parking, Good room size, no frills. Chairs and table in room. Small ensuite with little space for personal items.next to basin.Breakfast is $12.
Review collected with Easytobook.com

Good value for money

Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was most impressed with the smart,,efficient way the hotel is set up.
There are security doors from the outside and again from the lobby to the room areas. The rooms are clean,with good comfortable beds.A small TV. Wifi, tea and coffee (and biscuits) provided.Free easy access on-site parking.Each room has a small balcony for smokers.
The larger rooms have a jacuzzi as well as a shower.The internal garden court is set up for light breakfast.You can bring your own cereal toast etc.and use the hotel's facilities
Right alongside is a 7 eleven garage with a well stocked convenience store,open 24 hours.
Although the hotel is on Parramatta road, there is no traffic noise in the rooms.there is a bus to the City or other suburbs 50 meters away.Most convenient for getting to and from the Sydney center, the Harbour and the Rocks.

Room Tip: Large rooms have Jacuzzi as well as shower.

Overnight stay for the Sydney Vivid festival

4 of 5 stars reviewed recently

We've been here a few times now. Very quiet motel close to rail, bus and the new tram stop that provides convenient access to Sydney. Rooms are a good size and open on to an internal garden court. Lots of opportunity for meals elsewhere, helpful staff and competitive rates. On site car parking.

A very handy location for visiting Sydney

4 of 5 stars reviewed recently

This is a very tidy motel which is totally soundproofed from any traffic noise on Parramatta Road. Room was quite large, clean and comfortable with a small smokers balcony. Staff are cheerful and quickly able to sort out my channel selection problems on the TV. Not much dining within walking distance but a myriad of Asian cuisine to choose from in Ashfield (5 minutes by car) but before getting seated check payment options as some only take cash. Back towards the city is Norton Street which now caters for more than just Italian dining options and parking is easy around 6:00pm. For a day in the city the bus stop is near the entrance so there's no need to drive and motel parking is also free. A central courtyard caters well for a friends gathering as well as breakfast (continental - $12) however guests can bring their own cereal, bread, butters, vegemite and use the facilities (toaster, plates, etc) for free. All in all a nice handy spot at a very reasonable price. We'll certainly stay there again.

Very nice rooms, superb service

4 of 5 stars reviewed recently

We had no idea where this hotel was in Sydney, in relation to other places we wanted to visit, but the price was OK and service was great. A little far from downtown and the harbors, but within easy walk to bus line and train station. Room had a full-size Jacuzzi and a small patio (very small) outside. Only negative was the price of their breakfast items. Pretty steep and not a great selection.

T

3 of 5 stars reviewed 26 March 2014

It is a Motel, not a Hotel. Service was very good. Close to a railway station and a public bus station heading to the city. Close, 10min walk, to Sunny Hill suburb with nice cafes, restaurants and liquor shop.

Nice location great value

3 of 5 stars reviewed 26 March 2014

this is 3.5 and really is great value in a fantastic location, we stayed 8 nights and all we really needed was a bed so suited us fine, easy to connect free WIFI and some digital TV channels as a bonus, staff very pleasant and helpful. A short walk to Summer Hill train station and over the other side of the station plenty of restaurants and shops, nice little place across from the Hotel that does nice cheap bacon and eggs :-) and the Summer Hill Hotel is great for a relax and a cheap meal with the best rump steak I have ever had A tip is we bought a week multi pass at summer hill station that gave us unlimited travel on all Bus, Trains and Ferries for $63 we used this to go to Parramatta and Manly on the Ferry and also to Kiama on the south coast, we used it many times a day was excellent value, you can also get day passes. The bottom line, is if you are looking for somewhere to put your feet up at the end of the day and a nice bed a bathroom then this is for you

Nice location great value

3 of 5 stars reviewed 21 January 2014

this is 3.5 and really is great value in a fantastic location, we stayed 8 nights and all we really needed was a bed so suited us fine, easy to connect free WIFI and some digital TV channels as a bonus, staff very pleasant and helpful. A short walk to Summer Hill train station and over the other side of the station plenty of restaurants and shops, nice little place across from the Hotel that does nice cheap bacon and eggs :-) and the Summer Hill Hotel is great for a relax and a cheap meal with the best rump steak I have ever had A tip is we bought a week multi pass at summer hill station that gave us unlimited travel on all Bus, Trains and Ferries for $63 we used this to go to Parramatta and Manly on the Ferry and also to Kiama on the south coast, we used it many times a day was excellent value, you can also get day passes. The bottom line, is if you are looking for somewhere to put your feet up at the end of the day and a nice bed a bathroom then this is for you

Good value for budget travelers

4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights over the New Year's holiday. Although it is not perfect, I think it's a reasonably priced hotel for such an expensive city.

-Very convenient location. There is a bus stop outside that will take you to most of the downtown areas in 20-30 minutes; if there's no traffic I think you might even arrive at Central in 15 or so minutes. There is also a train station about 5 minutes on foot from the hotel that takes about 20 minutes into the city and stops at all the major stations in the city center. If you're going to be drinking/dinning around Surry Hills or Kings Cross, or you want to go to Bondi Beach this is very convenient. You could definitely take a taxi to/from downtown as well but that seams pricey

-The room was very large and and seemed relatively clean. The beds were also comfy. Not super glamorous but homey enough. If you're going to be out and about most of the time it's more than enough.

-The staff was very friendly and gave us lots of helpful hints about getting around the city, getting to the airport, etc.

-7 eleven next door for picking up snack/simple amenities. I forgot to bring a tooth brush so I bought mine here.

-They provide a simple breakfast with cereal, bread, etc. You can also use the kitchen area to cook your own stuff.

More like a 3.5 rating

3 of 5 stars reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It is very handy for getting the train to the city center. It is at the beginning of the Great Western Highway. This takes you to the blue Mountains. Since we were going to both we picked this place as the best location. It is a little rundown looking on the outside but clean and decent on the inside. The breakfast is not very appetizing at $12.50/each so we passed on it. We did use their toaster and toaster oven to cook what we brought in. The best part of the place (other than proximity to the trains) was the shower. The rain shower and the water pressure was awesome. I am tall and felt at home using the shower. It cost us $125/nite. That's about all I could say.

VALUE FOR $$$$

4 of 5 stars reviewed 21 December 2013

Very welcoming staff especially at the reception. Large room with bathroom, hair dryer, iron & board. Mini refrigerator available. Very comfortable bed. Near to train station (Summer Hill). Across the road bus stop located where you can find mart, bakery & restaurants. If you are driving, the gas station just located beside (7 Eleven) Value for money you pay. Recommended for family, couple & groups. We stay there for 9 pleasant days. Very awesome experience. Definitely worth to stay here !!! Thanks..... looking to stay there again.

great location for a brief sydney stay

4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 December 2013

The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. We were lucky to get a room at the back of the motel so it was quiet. The rooms do not come with hand towels or flannels so if using these is important to you bring your own. Our room was spacious and the bed comfy. There was a problem using the balcony as the people in the next room smoked and this was blown back towards us but we had another window we could open for fresh air. Will certainly consider using this motel again when we revisit Sydney.

Nice little motel

3 of 5 stars reviewed 29 November 2013

If you are visiting Sydney and can't afford the prices of the large, high class, centrally located global branded hotels, then you will struggle to do better than the Garden Lodge. Located on the humongously busy Parramatta road, this motel offers cheap and cheerful accommodation. We stayed 3 nights earlier this week. Good points - good price and location compared to other Sydney motels / feels safe and secure / good on site parking / rooms are big and the motel has a nice internal space for breakfast / sitting having a coffee etc. Wifi included in the price and speed was okay. Easy check in and staff are very friendly. Great free laundry room with free tumble drier - just remember to bring your own powder (or you can buy it from reception). Locationally, it's a 20 min bus ride to town ($3.20 each way) and the bus stop is right outside. There are loads of busses in either direction so you are usually only waiting 15 mins max. If your taking a taxi then it's about $20 as long as traffic is not to heavy. The motel is also a 20 min walk from the nearby Leichhardt area which has loads of nice bars / restaurants and a big supermarket. The area has loads of petrol stations which sell very cheap unleaded ($1.35 per litre).

Sydney on a budget

3 of 5 stars reviewed 24 October 2013

Staff pleasant and helpful. Spacious room, plenty of storage space. Has a safe large enough for a laptop computer. Small television cable T V provided. On a busy main road, but our room at the side of building was quiet. No crockery or food preparation appliances apart from tea and coffee necessities in room, but a courtyard area in the centre of building has tables and chairs, toaster, microwave and oven and food that can be purchased for breakfast or guests are welcome to use facilities for own food preparation. Free laundry facilities. Bathroom small, shower cubicle very small with no door, so floor got wet every time anyone had a shower. 10 minute walk to train station and shops at Summer Hill and then 20 minutes to Circular Quay, bus stop next door. Would stay here again.

Great little motel

4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 September 2013

We travel to Sydney often because our daughter lives there. Small motel, clean, is in an ideal spot . Close to the city, but far enough away if you don't want to pay city prices .is on Parramatta rd, so travel to Darling Harbour, beautiful Leichhardt, and Newtown etc is all so easy. Don't expect a "high class" hotel, but if you're looking for clean, friendly and " near" location, we can't fault it

Comfortable stay

4 of 5 stars reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel is handy to Annandale and Leichhardt. Its comfortable with renovated bathroom and large bedroom and is quiet if you request a room off the main street. We found the staff helpful, cleaners good and all in all a very comfortable stay.

Cozy, quiet , excellent staff, comfortable stay

4 of 5 stars reviewed 15 August 2013

Just last week, four of us visited Sydney for our week-long summer vacation and we chose to stay in this lovely, cozy motel. Before we even made it to the motel, we had changed several times about the room-type due to our personal reasons, and the staffs in Garden Lodge were happily and willingly to suit our needs as we had requested. Garden Lodge staffs also replied our emails swiftly enough, and I have no other words to describe their superb efficiency.

The motel itself is beautiful. When I heard about the word "motel", my first thought was that it was a love-hotel, as in many other countries, but I was seriously wrong and ashamed of my stereotyping for this lovely Garden Lodge. This motel is quiet, cozy-looking, and clean, as every morning the cleaning staff will knock gently on your door, waiting to clean your room. The rooms that we stayed in were clean, as you could see from the pictures up there.

Garden Lodge is located slightly off the busy city center, but all sorts of transportation are within brief walking distance. Summer Hill Train Station is 10minutes away up the street of Garden Lodge, and it takes lesser time if you indulge yourself in the quiet suburb neighborhood as you walk up the hill to the station. There is a bus stop just in front of Garden Lodge, and it takes you a 20~30minute journey to Centre Station. A reminder for future Garden Lodge visitors : if you are taking a taxi from Sydney Airport to the motel, please do not ask the taxi drivers how much it is to get there, because some would charge you heavy prices, which are not at all reasonable. Instead, let the meter run at its own. the price should be around $45~50 Aussie Dollar.

The staff in Garden Lodge, Ivan, Danny, and two lovely ladies whom we had forgotten to get their names, are of terrific helpful. They helped us book trips, suggest other interesting ones, and even went extra miles to help us plan a wonderful trip during our stay in Sydney. We did not manage to express our gratitude to them as we were rushing to airport in the break of dawn ( again, the taxi was booked by the staff). So, I hope that writing this review is our way of showing how appreciative we were during our stay there.

Comfortable family accommodation

4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 August 2013

Our family stayed for a week while we attended a conference at Olympic park, we traveled by train each day as the station is only a 10 minutes walk. The room was comfortable and clean, the common area downstairs had a comfy lounge corner, very relaxing listening to the water features. Also we had use of the dining area, microwave, toaster to make our own breakfasts and snacks each day.

Watch TV from the Spa

4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 July 2013

Booked a spa room through Wotif and stayed here for a night after going to Supanova at Sydney Olympic Park. Our room was clean and comfortable, the staff were helpful, the spa is right in the main room and - best of all - the TV swivels to face it. Borrowed a DVD player from reception and we were set. They have free offstreet parking and wifi, a pretty dining/commonroom bit in the middle, and a 7/11 next door. There were some very minor flaws - our bathmat had seen better days and the bathroom window had no flyscreen - but all up it was a nice place to stay and we'd definitely stay again.

Excellent

5 of 5 stars reviewed 21 June 2013

Checked into Garden Lodge one week ago for a 2 week stay. The staff have been excellent, both in friendliness & efficiency and go out of their way to help. The room is very comfortable and spacious. Very quiet, efficient air conditioner, beautiful bathroom, comfortable large bed). Very clean & well kept Motel. Free use of the washing machine & dryer is an excellent bonus for us. (just need to supply our own wash powder). Free use of the hotels dining facilities (Microwave..cutlery, crockery.. beautiful dining area) is another welcome bonus & money saver for us). Also very handy to the City. Bus stop right beside Motel, as is a 7/11. Also reasonably close to a good shopping centre. The train station (Summer Hill) is a pleasant 10 minute stroll through the leafy suburb. I recommend the train to the City, Opera House, etc. Very comfortable & modern rail service. I can't really fault this hotel.. Highly recommended.